Tranent and Preston Village Cricket Club News story

2019 Season Award Winners Announced

19 Nov 2019

The full list of award winners for the 2019 season has been announced! 

Mo Rizwan was the big winner this year, picking up Player of the Year and Bowler of the Year for his club-leading total of 19 league wickets. Elsewhere Scott Russell picked up his second Batsman of the Year award for the club, Gregor Brunton completed a hat-trick of Young Player of the Year awards, and Shine Tom took home the President's Plate for 2019. 
The full list of 2019 winners is below:

Player of the Year - Mo Rizwan
19 league wickets at an average of 6.68 and economy rate of 1.69, 3 catches.

Captain's Player of the Year - David King
Top scorer for the 1st XI with 115 runs, 7 catches.

President's Plate - Shine Tom
For services to recruitment, on-field attitude, and entertaining batting throughout the season!

2nd XI Player of the Year - James Griffiths
15 league wickets at an average of 7.40 and economy rate of 2.64, 5 league catches.

3rd XI Player of the Year - Gleno Jose
38 runs at an average of 12.67, 2 wickets with an economy rate of 3.50.

Female Player of the Year - Clair Monkhouse
4 wickets at an average of 9.75 and economy rate of 5.57

Young Player of the Year - Gregor Brunton
19 total wickets at an average of 9.11 and economy rate of 2.68, 21 runs and 5 catches.

Bowler of the Year - Mo Rizwan
22 total wickets at an average of 6.59 and economy rate of 1.75

Batsman of the Year - Scott Russell
186 League runs (high score of 70) at an average of 37.20, seventeen 4s and one 6.

Most Improved Player - Shine "do-it-all" Tom
131 total runs (high score of 42) at an average of 10.09, 14 total wickets at an average of 15.29 and economy rate of 3.45, 2 catches, 3 stumpings.

Club Volunteer - Aiden Hoenigmann
For preparing wickets, organising events and running midweek training sessions throughout the 2019 season.

Fielder of the Year - Tam Hardwick
For preventing more boundaries than anybody cares to count, 1 catch.

Spirit of Cricket Award - Steve Lee
For the positive attitude, the humour, the sledging (mostly of his own team!) and generally playing the game the way it's meant to be played.

Catch of the Season - David King
For a truly brilliant slip catch during the 1st XI's game against Dunbar.

Our Memorable Moment of 2019 goes to Sam Booker and Lachlan Bruce for their final-wicket partnership, seeing the 1st XI home against Grange III with an obstinate display of rear-guard batting. Scorecard here.

Duck Trophy - TBA...
Plenty of players in the running for this one. The announcement will be made at an event closer to that start of the new season!

Past winners can be viewed at the Honours Board section of the website here.

Congratulations to all of this year's winners and nominees!